Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

What's wrong ?

After Castillo posted his drawing I wasn't going to post, but this is the only way I can learn.
So what am I missing. I must have done 20 sketches of him. Can't figure out what I'm not seeing.
I'm telling myself he has a hard face to do, that's sad.

[Deleted User]

Comments

• SummerSummer -
    edited October 2015
    @billj You have captured a likeness already. I'm not a drawing expert but the first thing I would do is take the original and turn it upside down. Then I'd count/recognize the number of different values of black that I see. Then I'd select the pencils and charcoal that would give me those values. I'd have a kneaded eraser on hand, some blending tools, some scratching devices for the beard and hair and/or a white drawing pencil, and drawing paper slightly textured and maybe toned grey or green. I'd get some working as well as a permanent spray fixative. And also have a sheet of plastic, paper or cloth to rest my drawing hand on while working so as not to smudge the finished parts.

I'll add a few screen shots to this post. I'd show the shadows behind the ear and around the face and include the black collar because it will be more interesting. Hope you will try at least some of these things. I'm sure that you have most of these items already. Have fun. Wish I had time to do more drawing. Summer
    mikp
  • The eyes look good to me, but the right corner of the mouth does not go as far to the right as it does in the photo.
  • The subject's right, not the viewer.
  • Billj

Nice drawing. Great quick sketch.

What's wrong?

Lots of little things.