Recipe for slow dry medium

edited January 2013 in Studio & Supplies
Hello, newbie here, finding my way around and starting to get myself organised for using TCM.

I've been a lurker for a couple of weeks and have followed links and surfed the net for info ..... Looking good so far, but the recipe for the slow dry medium here on the forum that a member posted has measurements in millilitres - the recipe of the old website supply list indicates 'parts'. This list answered a few of my questions, including brush recommendations, paint specifics, etc... link here www.thecardermethod.com/supplylist/

but I'm troubled by the quantities for the recipe..... in particular the Venice turpentine. Reason being is that VT is very dense and mineral spirits are much, much less dense which would make 50ml of VT weigh around 90grams.

Sorry for the ramble, it's late here in the UK, simple question should be "are the measurement in the recipe by volume or weight?"

Comments

• All volume, make "parts" be whatever you want it to be.

Welcome LindenH! :-)
  • Thanks for the responses. I've got all the ingredients apart from the clove oil and Venice turpentine. The clove oil is easy enough to get locally and the Venice turp is on it's way (ordered online). Whilst I was surfing for vt suppliers here in the UK, I noticed that the Shiva brand isn't available here but is also imitation vt, not the genuine stuff. I've gone for http://www.turnersartshop.co.uk/cornelissen-larch-venice-turpentine-60ml-4169-p.asp
    geniune larch venice turp but pricey at £12 (about $18) for 60ml.

I decided against the large mason jars at this stage (still in the early stages of experimenting with the method) but have got some small, mini jam jars. I read elsewhere that some users of the Carder method use syringes to store their premixed five colours, which seems a good idea.