Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

My first oil painting -Landscape

MarikMarik -
edited July 2018 in Post Your Paintings
This is my first try of landscape painting by oil colors (water soluble oil colors - Reeve)
(I have some little experiences in watercolor) otherwise I paint for fun, self-taught enthusiast :)
Canvas 30x24cm, painting by arteficial light from my own photo ( from LCD monitor)
Any constructive critique, comment, tips is welcome. Thanks.
Mark.

jeffdencalPaulBtassieguyBOB73Richard_PmariebKaustav

Comments

• PaulBPaulB mod
    This is a good painting, congratulations.  You've got detail, texture, abstraction, and a nice realistic range of values.  It's a lovely serene setting.

My critique would be that the level of detail is consistent from foreground to midground, so that the rock/root ball has the same level of detail as that central tree, and there should be more detail in the foreground than the background.  In fact, I can't tell if it's a rock, or the dirt around the roots of the fallen tree.

I would suggest no changes, but going forward, try Mark's recommended approach of printing and laminating the picture, then color matching directly on that laminate.  I think you'll find it will improve the realism in places.

What is your artificial light?  Is it a CRI95+ 5000K bulb?  That's ideal for color matching, anything else is going to make it harder on you.
    tassieguyMarik
  • edited July 2018
    @Marik, this is a wonderful first attempt at landscape!

Overall, the colours and values are great.  I love the atmospheric perspective you have achieved with the lighter, bluer/greyer background. The composition is interesting, too.