Just a painting I made...

shobhushobhu -
edited November 2012 in Post Your Paintings
Hello all,

This is a painting (yes its not a sketch) I made a while ago, using ivory black oil paint on water color paper. I didn't use Mark's way of painting but just used whatever method came naturally to me... that is I painted without thinking much. I didn't knew about Mark's method... which seems to be really much better as it is very logical and technically precise.

Umm... I'm a computer science graduate student. So thats my profession. But I love art as much as I love science... I'm 25... so hopefully there's still a lot of time and I really want to give myself a genuine chance to become the best artist I can be. I'm self taught and a beginner and never had any teacher :(... so was wondering if you all can please just take a look and give me some honest feedback... you don't have to be nice to me... just real feedback... I could really use it. I'll be really grateful... thank you so much :)
valentinbhopaliJoaquim

Comments

• The eyes in all your paintings I've noticed are so captivating! I think this is a wonderful value study. It shows you have a lot of control of your brush as well. I really like your composition. I think you are a natural painter. You did things here in the values that a lot of people miss. I think it's an excellent study. :-c
    Gary
  • tjs thanks for the comment... it really means a lot to me that you took some time out to look at it :) But what do you mean by "all your paintings"? I've posted only one!
    And you really made a surprising comment... I actually think I've a problem with my brush work... some people can get such smooth brush strokes... I don't know how... in fact I wanted to ask Mark if he could do a video and explain to us how to even hold a brush properly!
  • Sorry Shobhu I was comparing this painting to the one you had on video. I've only had a couple hours sleep! Sorry for the typo.