Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Study in Edges and Painting Surfaces: Oil on Aluminum 8x13.5 and 4.5x6.5

I found these Aluminum panels at an art store and I'm studying about edges (I have a tendency to have too many hard edges in my paintings) -
I'm not sure if they're too sloppy looking even though they did take me all day complete.  I concentrated and was thoughtful, I'm just not sure if I overdid it with hard vs soft edges.  Thoughts very much appreciated.  Here is the smaller one:

PaulBrautchetanRonHopanweshaRichard_PBOB73MikeDerbyForgivenessSummerKaustavEliza

Comments

• I love the fruit.  I think the edges are great.  I'm looking at the shadow edges and wonder if those should be softened.  Sometimes they're softer than we realize.
  • The fruit are great, I also agree about the shadows.
  • PaulBPaulB mod
    You really captured the gnarly, lumpy nature of apple twigs.  I like in the second painting I can't tell where the painting ends and the frame begins.
  • BOB73BOB73 -
    edited June 2017
    Great Job. The first has a good edgy feel to it. The left's shadow edge is crisp as a Gala. The others are ok but softening further wouldn't damage the painting but not too much because there is evidently a strong light. The small one is an enigma. While the apple has a small aura around it, I can't tell where the edge of the panel ends. Is the wood frame part of the painting? The wood has an apple flavored highlight/reflection on the right. Also the shadow looks a little incomplete. I doubt very seriously that I would be able to pick out those details if I didn't have the magnification turned up. How do they look hanging in your studio? Fantastic I'll bet.
  • I think they are both wonderful. Congratulations on some excellent work.