Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Acrylic Peacock painting Your help Plz

edited June 2016 in Post Your Paintings
Hello, my name is Jill. I am new to this forum and hope it's okay to post an acrylic painting. I do paint in oils sometimes but I don't have any oil paint right now. I used golden acrylic color theory paints and mixed the colors myself. This was done very quickly last night mostly dry brushing. I see a few mistakes but what I am really trying to work on here was values... I am self taught and not sure I have the values right or not... I have watched the videos but still unsure... Any critiques are welcome because I just want to improve my paintings. I used no reference photo and I didn't draw it in... I just painted.
Richard_PmichalisdencalFlatty

Comments

• Wow! So beautiful.. and without any references too :)
  • Thank you. I have the artist "curse" lol because when I look at it I see the glaring feather to the left that I can't stand and can't fix it either.
  • So I was a little depressed earlier when I went and viewed Carder's paintings and some others posts. They are so good, and my paintings are so very far from being anywhere close to that.... I really what to paint at that level..... Suggestions are welcome, and do you think it makes a difference whether painting in acrylic or oil.... Or just developing skill in either? I am self taught,have only been painting for a couple years not very regularly because I am  a mom with three little ones the youngest being 6 months old so time for practicing is an issue for me.... What do you think will help me grow faster?