Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Reason for slow dry medium?

I'd like to ask for some further explanation of this method we are using (Mark's method). If we are to avoid "blending" as a general rule while painting, why do we go to the lengths that we do in order to keep the paint from drying? I'm guessing that our technique is by nature slower and the little "bumps" (mark's term) that we make require wet paint? Could someone elaborate a bit on how we are using the slow dry factor to our advantage? Keep in mind that I'm an oil paint beginner, please.

-Scot White

Comments

• Hi Scot,

I would say that the SDM has several advantages - it allows you to take your time and correct your mistakes. Mark says to avoid blending or "fixing" as you are laying in the colors, but there is room for blending/softining of edges later in the process after the colors are laid in. The SDM also permits you to do that.

Martin
    studioania
  • Also because you pre-mix your colors before you start to paint, you don't want your palette to dry out during the actual painting process :)
    Martin_J_CraneGary
  • GaryGary -
    edited February 2013