Blending & Brushes

Good morning Artists!

Ever since I started painting I have used the Mark Carder method... where you get the right color you place it down and pretty much leave it... with no blending or very little blending. I personally think its a fantastic way to paint, and as he says in his video with the pear, at rooms length it looks great... the issue I am having is, when I paint and post my work in which people aren't seeing the actual painting, but rather are seeing a photograph of the painting on my website, I have seen friends, zooming in analyzing the painting, and ask , why does it look like that... I take the phone and place it far away and tell them to look at the whole picture, and they finally see it... I think if your work is in a gallery or something and people actually see the painting, its fantastic, but if they are viewing off of a screen, perhaps blending will be more useful? anyone else similar problems or thoughts?

What is the best method to blend? Do you place the colors as you see them down, then with a clean soft brush try to blend the lines together? What is the best brush to use for that?

Thanks everyone!

Comments

• [Deleted User][Deleted User] admin
    edited December 2015
    Don't take photographs with your phone, resize it to the size you want people to see it at online, and most importantly… paint what you like. You can blend if you want; don't blend if you don't want to; mix and match approaches as desired. Don't try so hard to please people — do your thing.

Incidentally… I've heard people ask this same question in our YouTube comments a few times. I don't understand it, because I have never encountered this problem myself. If anything I like a lot of "messy" work better when I view it up close, or at least it lets me appreciate a different aspect of the painting.

Do you have any photos of your paintings you can post? That would probably help people give feedback on what they might do differently. 
    MikeORon