Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Which white balance card should I use?

SummerSummer -
edited December 2015 in Photography & Printmaking
@David_Quinn_Carder or anyone else who knows this answer.  I'm led to believe that if I set a custom white balance with a white card for exposure or grey card for color balance, that all the other colors will follow suit and be correct.  This theory is what I have been shooting with in raw for several months now instead of relying on an automatic camera setting and post production for white balance.  If this is true, then what should I do with the card that has white, grey, black and eleven other colors and neutrals--and when should I use this colorful card?  Is this multi-hued card superfluous?  Thanks folks.  Summer 

Comments

• edited December 2015
    I've been using the WhiBal G7 that David recommended in the  Advance Photography Guide

People use it for setting white balance in-camera or in post production. I haven't tried the in-camera method with it yet so I can't tell you if there's any difference when comparing the two.

In this video an ExpoDisc is also used which seems to be another favorite for setting in-camera WB.

I'm assuming the colorful card you're talking about is the ColorChecker Passport

People use the big white/gray card the same way as the WhiBal and all the colorful swatches are used in post-production to create a color profile in Lightroom. The two rows of warm and cool grays you see at the top were meant for setting the WB for either portraits or landscapes but you can use them for warming or cooling the colors on whatever photo you want.

Summer[Deleted User]