Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

help please

As a complete beginner, I am having trouble composing this still life for my first try at DMP. I have spent over an hour with this and can't seem to decide what to do. Too cluttered? Too bleh? I have tried it without muffin, without napkin, without background. I would welcome any help you might have for me. I can scrap it all and start again, but I also want to paint !

Comments

• I think it's fine..as far as the composition goes.Lighting..A few more interesting shadows would be nice.(Or darker darks and lighter lights).
    Anyways..that is my opinion..go for it.It shouldn't matter as it your first DMP.Unless you are extremely particular about creating a masterpiece.If you look at it in a ''i Just Want To Learn"..It won't matter much then.
    To your creative success,
    Regards
    H.M
    AlbertoEstherH
  • I am a beginner as well, but I might make a couple suggestions. Place the spoon on the saucer with the bowl forward and the stem extending back. Move the napkin forward, maybe with the muffin on it. You look to have a couple light sources coming in as there is a double shadow on the tabletop by the muffin. You might get a better effect with one offset light source.
  • Also, move in on your subject, or crop your picture. There is quite a bit of dead space above your subject.
  • I think that the tabletop is very busy and it will be difficult to paint for a first try. If you get a white cloth and put the cup on it and put the muffin on the white cloth. Plain against patterned.The spoon could sit at an angle to the muffin on the white cloth, to provide direction. I like to paint still life, unfortunately I only see my composition mistakes when I have dismantled the composition. Check photos on laptop/pc before you eat the muffin =) Good Luck