Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

ISO - Digital Pull

SummerSummer -
edited August 2015 in Photography & Printmaking
I'm just getting into cameras again--for painting. I have a Canon Rebel T3 EOS 1100D. I'm mainly wanting to know if it is true about this “digital pull” thing and if I can use the concept on my camera. My native ISO settings are 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 3200. The magic digital pull settings on a better camera are 160, 320, 640, 1250, 2500, 5000. Since I don't have these magic numbers on my camera to play with, I want to try something else. Can I just reduce the ISO setting by one-third of a stop to achieve the benefit of the digital pull to the sensor to get the least amount of noise/grain? Like from 200 to 100? I prefer to add the noise/grain in my photo-editing software if I need it. I understand that all of the noise/grain can't be removed from the raw file once it's there. However, after having thought about it, this might change the dynamic range of light to dark intensities. There is something about this theory that doesn't set well with me. Why would I set up my shot in manual mode then deliberately move my ISO setting down a notch and throw everything off? Have any of you camera buffs heard of this? Thank you.

Comments

• Excellent advice. Thank you. Good checklist to carry with me or keep on my desktop. It's all there! I may have to ignore this digital pull on the sensor thing because it doesn't set well with me on the camera I have--not enough ISO setting options. Maybe in another life. :)