Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Toxins?

I am new to oil paints... came over from acrylics ... I use non toxin turpenoid as a thinner... i work in a small room... sometimes i get paint on my skin... i try to wash it off right away... am i poisoning myself? also, is it okay to sleep in the same room as the paintings dry...etc? ive read conflicting reports on the internet... some are saying in our modern time we have nothing to worry about, unless you literally eat the paints... also, if your using hues instead of the 60$ a bottle paint, you should be okay... since there aren't metals in the hues... im not really sure... should i get gloves? will that make the brush slippery? should I just try to be more careful? should i move my studio if possible?

Comments

• [Deleted User][Deleted User] admin
    edited June 2015
    If you are using solvents and you don't have adequate ventilation ("adequate" will be different depending on the solvent and your sensitivity), then the toxic part is the fumes you're inhaling. But if you're using Geneva Artists' Oil Color, there are no solvents, so there are no fumes. If you're using different paint, it depends on what medium you're using and if it has solvents in it.