Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Illustration

Hey @Kingston and @MikeO and any other people with illustration backgrounds, I have a question. I guessing that there is tons of disagreement about what, if anything, makes illustration different from fine art, but I have a more general question. Sometimes you guys say that you like a particular painter, noting that he/she was an illustrator, or you comment that a painting has an illustrative quality to it.

I think that I know what you mean, but I'm not 100% sure. So, for us non-illustrators, what do you mean?

Comments

• @Martin_J_Crane It means a lot of things to me. I have a degree in illustration. When I went to school illustration was very relevant. Album covers, magazine covers, magazine illustrations, movie posters, calendars were dominated by the work of artists or illustrators. Today all of that work, with few exceptions, is done with Photoshop.

Tomorrow I am going to "The Society of Illustrators" in New York to see the annual advertising show. When I was a student going there was like going to church. You would leave with your jaw wide open. You couldn't believe the collection of talent included in that show. Back then the show was relevant. You would recognize what you were looking at. The original artwork for movie posters, Bob Peak, Richard Amsel, Ted Coconis, Robert McGuinness. You would see calendar illustrations by Greg and Tim Hildebrandt, and Darrel Sweet for "The Lord of the Rings", Michael Deas' illustrations of James Dean, Marilyn Monroe and others for US postage stamps. Bernie Fuchs, Burt Silverman, Steven Assael, Malcolm T. Liepke, Braldt Bralds and a thousand others.