Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

what`s the difference ?

W & N artists gloss varnish, and McCloskey gloss varnish. besides price ?

Painters drop cloths come in 8 oz, and 10 oz, 80% cotton. about $6. for 4`x 5` made stretcher bars, 3 coats of gesso sanded between each, I stretched it tight as a drum. Total about $10 ,Why wouldn't this work ? Thanks

Comments

• Billj

I'm no expert but:

* W&N is removable, McC is not.
    * W&N is clear, McC is amber toned
    * W&N is formulated to remain clear and transparent over its lifetime, McC may turn cloudy depending on exposure.
    * W&N is designed as a once only application, McC is designed for mechanical stripping and re-varnishing say every five years.

If none of these attributes matter to you then go with McC. Varnish is a mixture of resin, oil and solvent. I would want to know that these particular ingredients are chemically compatible with oil paint and SDM.

I have seen painter's drop cloths stretched as large painting canvases and the producers of these Utube videos are happy with the results -

To protect the cotton fibers from linolenic acid (from linseed oil) you should use a PVC size before the gesso coats.

Denis
  • Denis; thanks, one out of two isn`t bad. Have you used that kind of canvas if so do you like it ?