Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Greetings from California

Hey there everyone!

I am a 32 year old artist who lives and works in Southern California. I was born and raised about an hour north of New York City and moved to California to be with my wife and finish up school about 10 years ago.

After going through some foundation courses at local community colleges I started formal training at Pratt Institute in Brooklyn NY. After a few years at Pratt, I transferred out to Otis College of Art and Design in LA and finished up my BFA in painting in 2008.

Throughout my time in school I mainly painted abstract and have some, but very little experience in drawing from life and painting realistically. Therein lies the problem I am facing now.

I started doing abstract art based on my taste/sensibility and appreciation for abstract art pretty early on in school. (Here's my website to give you an idea of how I work www.edbopp.com ) I've continued to paint abstract ever since graduating and have produced some very successful bodies of work. BUT...

Recently I have been working on a series of paintings that are based on Southern California architecture and I've been wrestling with the forms, colors, composition, drawing, perspective you name it....and have come to the sad yet honest truth that after a decade or more of school and making art, I CAN'T PAINT. Now, I say that with tongue partly in cheek but honestly the older I have gotten the more I realize that some of the best abstract painters were masters at painting and drawing from life. I feel like if one cannot draw and paint from life then the abstraction from life is contrived and dare I say pointless if not mindless.