Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Brian from Oklahoma

Hey everyone! My name is Brian Savignano (29), and I am new to painting. I live in SE Oklahoma with my wife and three small children (3, 2, 7mo) and our four cats. I have a feeling all of them will be painted at some point in time lol.

I do not have a drawing background or anything, just a will to learn and a neverending need to be good at what I do. I work IT for a hospital during the day, and in my spare time I would normally be playing/programming/3d modeling something to do with video games. I have always been enthralled by the art in games and had begun learning digital painting with a wacom tablet I picked up a couple years ago. While I like the images you can come up with there, it just means nothing next to an oil painting to me.

About 3 weeks ago I painted a landscape after watching several Joy of Painting episodes from the 80's. My friends and family think it looks great (I don't), but I feel I cheated. I learned how to do some quick sky/trees/mountain/water tricks, but that's what I feel they are, tricks. I did a seascape afterwards that looks much better to me, but still not the style I want.

I have been watching Mark's videos since then and committing everything to memory before I give it a try, which will probably be the weekend after Easter. I have acquired all of the paints Mark recommends and the majority of the ingredients for the medium (need clove oil and Venice turpentine). I still need to build the table for still life and a new easel (mine is too flimsy and leans back). I am thinking of pricing up some glass for a new palette table but for now I will use two pieces of acrylic that are about that same size.

I am really excited about learning to paint using Mark's method, and working on my own style as I go :)

Brian