Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Finally ready to Start...

Thanks to everyone on this site who have generously answered my questions so far, and thanks to Mark for his willingness to freely share his gift with others.

I have completed my studio redesign, built my shadow box and color checker, mixed my SDM with my palette of 5 colors and rehearsed my 6 questions... and I am ready to begin my first ever "still-life"! (I know... kind of anticlimactic). I have been doing art for many years and somehow avoided doing a still life for that entire time. In the past 5 years I have really become serious about my art and focused on oil painting, and that journey led me here to revisit the fundamentals and then some. Though I have had some decent sales, I really need to elevate my game.

So, without further hesitation... I begin. Wish me luck!

I am starting with a very simple setup-I don't want to discourage myself right away. (keep it simple, stupid!)

I do have one more question... would you start with the object in the background, or foreground?
Castillorgr

Comments

• djfedeli

I would start with the object in the background. Either way it's not crucial.
    However, I would lose most of the one third empty space on the LHS.

Denis
  • djfedeil, I like the composition, the orange and blue go well....best of luck :)
  • I like this but (just my opinion)-i would like it better without the curtain and i would trim away some of the sides as they don't do much for the main subject -which, are beautifully done. B-)
  • Again -just an opinion - no, i was thinking like this. But really it so subjective -if you like it the way you did it, you should keep it that way! :-?