Yellowing of the linseed oil.

Hi guys! I have a problem with my recent painting. I normally use linseed oil to thin my paints and normally have no problem with that. But in this painting I have many snow areas that I painted with only white and linseed oil. The white paint is impossible to use right out of tube and I have to thin it down a lot. But I realized those parts are getting yellow. Unless it's completely dry I can't paint over it with white thinned down with mineral spirits. But I don't have that much time. What else can I do in this situation? If I paint over it again with white thinned down with linseed oil and keep it away from sunlight will that stop the yellowing? Or should I buy another white that I can use right out if tube or with less mediums?
whunt

Comments

• I am no scientist, but I can see a really good painting when I look at it.   This is one of those!
    Even if you have the time you speak of not having, I would never thin down paint with turps to use over paint mixed with oil.    Fat over Lean; not the other way round, so that would not have solved your problem, even if you had tried it.  It would have added to your issues in the long run.

Can you remove the offending sections of paint? 
    Failing that, see 2 obvious solutions to the situation.
    1. Buy some safflower or walnut oil which are less likely to yellow.  Or a commercial product such as liquin.
    2 buy another brand of paint as you suggest.
    Best of luck and please let us know how you get on.
    asya
  • asya

Nice work.

If you leave the painting exposed to light the ‘yellowing’ should fade away.

https://justpaint.org/what-is-dark-yellowing/

Denis
    asya
  • Thanks for the comments! First of I scraped it off pretty much thoroughly I can say. Now I think I should buy a white paint that I can use right out of tube or get a medium that doesn't yellow like liquin.