Plein-air thread (post your pictures)

Hey all,

I invite you to join the conversation and talk about anything that has to do with painting out in the open. 
Preferably post pictures of your equipment, tools, pictures of your adventure and of course your input/tips about Plein-air in general. 

I hope it ends up as a big, on going thread,  in an effort to motivate my self and maybe others to paint more out in the open. 
I'm new to this so I've realised i need to paint a bit more at the back of my garden, until i figure out exactly what i need to equip my self with before i head out in the wild. 
here's a DIY easel i made out of an art box (was getting dusted so i had to convert it for a different purpose):

It's hard chasing the changes in light, but also a good lesson about the need to improve my drawing speed.
The biggest plus about painting out in the daylight is that it beats a screen every day. I can clearly see the colours especially in the shadows. 
I'll probably try to finish it again tomorrow in the same location.

Thx for stopping by,
Marino

adridrikaustavMtassieguyAbstractionMichaelD

Comments

• @adridri these are awesome.

I got into plein air painting in 2017. It was just for my learning at that time. Since 2018 I got a small custom made thumbox and a bigger box to do it outdoors. My area at that time was with limited people so I could paint for hours but now it's difficult. I do plein air to catch the right perspective, color and (mentally edited) subject matter to produce a bigger painting in the studio. Below thread is about my development as a plein air painter

https://forum.drawmixpaint.com/discussion/6956/outdoor-oil-sketches-kaustavs-plein-air-blog#latest
    adridriAbstractionMarinos_88
  • edited December 2022
    Great plein air kit and wonderful paintings, @adridri.
    adridri
  • @kaustavM you have some pretty nice sketches in this thread :)