Self portrait-work in progress oil paint(12x8inch wooden panel) a little further on

edited August 9 in Post Your Paintings

Monochrome underpainting done.

I am pleased with the progress so far.
KitMarinos_88whunttassieguyjoydeschenesA_Time_To_PaintArtGalallforChristGTOAbstractionMarikGary_HeathdewaldRichard_P

Comments

• This is  very strong underpainting, @MichaelD. The drawing is good and the image is full of character. I can't wait to see what it will look like when you add colour.  :)
    MichaelDpcstaples
  • Thank you so much @tassieguy.

I have actually decided now to make this a monochrome painting, as I have never done one before.

Theres still a lot to do to it.  :)
    tassieguypcstaplesGary_Heath
  • Looks excellent @MichaelD. The expression shows me an intelligent and serious introspective soul. I can understand why you may want to keep it as a monochrome painting. That said however, since we have seen some of your other exceptional works in full color, perhaps you may want to take it in that direction as well. Look forward to seeing whatever you choose. :)
    MichaelD
  • Wow @MichaelD, this looks great!  Chiseled features, intense gaze, strong presence.  Good going!
    MichaelD
  • Thank you for your kind words @whunt.

It would be unintelligent for me to disagree with your conclusions and thoughts on my expression  :) 
    Im usually a bit of a joker so I wanted to do one that was more thoughtful looking.

To give some background on my decision to make it a monochrome. I caught the dreaded virus a couple of weeks back and though most symptoms are now gone for more than the past week I have felt like I have no energy and have had brain fog. There have been many days when I had every intention of and wanted to pick up the paint brushes, but it just wasn’t happening.