So Confused About What Paints to Get

VioletViolet -
edited June 28 in Painting
I am new to oils also. I had a set of W&N Artisan water mixable oils that I got about 10 years ago in an art swap and decided to try to use them. They smell horrible. They literally reek. I did three quick paintings which came out okay but I went super fast as the smell. When I finish one, I have to put it in a plastic sealed box to dry as the paintings stink up the house until dry. I am gonna take the rest of the paints to the disposal site as I just can't use them.

Now I am hooked on using oils though and want to get some oil paints that don't reek but I'm totally confused as to what to get.  Because:

- Some say smell is from solvents, but that is not true in my case as I didn't not use any except linseed oil for water mixable oils that came with the set.

- Some have said it might be because the paints are old and rancidified.

- Someone suggest I should get water mixables as they are non toxic, but when I pointed out I was using   water mixable and they reeked, they said a different brand of them like Cobra or Holbein.

- Some say it is the linseed oil that smells bad to some people and that it is in most oil paint. So in that case, I should get safflower or walnut based oil paints. Some suggestions were Sennelier, M. Graham, and Blick.

- Some say I should buy one tube of various artists brands and compare what works best for me. But oil paints are not cheap and that seems like a big investment of money on something I might end up tossing or giving away.

I am totally confused as to how to proceed. Any advice? What would you try if it were you?  

PS. I am tempted by the Geneva but they have linseed oil and also solvent (Correction... MEDIUM) in them as well so no idea if they would have a smell that bothered me.