Studio wall color

Hi everyone!

I’m getting ready to paint my new studio space and the contractor is driving me insane! He is trying to talk me out of painting my studio black. No matter how many times I explain Mark’s method, he keeps trying to talk me out of it. It’s a beautiful new space and he’s feeling very deflated with my color choice.

I have to admit that he’s making me think twice. I know the space would be more pleasing to the eye in a color other than black. I’m considering making a compromise to a very dark gray.

I’m a beginner painter and I’m trying to follow Mark’s guidance closely. I’ve searched this forum and reviewed the discussions on this topic. I came across a post from Mark where he says it’s not critical that the room be entirely black but it can be a deep neutral tone. I’ve read a post where someone painted their studio dark but not black and they sometimes will still put a piece of dark fabric behind them to paint, but they don’t do that all the time.

I’d so appreciate hearing back from anyone who also is closely following Marks guidance whether they have black walls or a dark color and what they feel about their choice. If black is the best, than that’s the way I’ll go.

I took a 2 week class with Mark in Austin and I absolutely loved my painting result for a first attempt. I do notice, however, that  my painting is very dark on my home wall. I like the results achieved but I may not always want to paint such dark paintings. I am trying to create a painting space that will work for whatever style of painting I gravitate to in the future. I have watched a billion painting videos where instructors are painting in light/medium toned walls and have beautiful results. That confuses me a bit. After I learn to mix and really see color, will I always want to work in such a dark space?

if anyone who has an opinion can share with me, I’d be very grateful.

Comments

• edited May 10