Drawing vs Painting

Hi everyone! I am a beginner who has maintained an on-again, off-again status while raising my kids. Things always got in the way and interruptions always won. Now the kids are grown and I am so ready! I'm happy to see Mark's videos, as the classes I've taken seem to be of the "non-instructive" instruction genre. Valuable to a point but somewhat frustrating.

The drawing I've attached is an exercise from Bert Dodson's drawing book. My current painting instructor says that the rendering is very " two dimensional" and nothing like what painting is like. Sure enough I find that with my first assignment (copying a John Singer Sargent portrait) I am far too caught up in blending and shaping with tints and shades than putting the paint on the canvas loosely. I would love to see some exercises that would help me to loosen up when starting a painting.
Any ideas?
Eliza
tjs

Comments

• edited July 2013
    Hello and welcome! I can't really speak to the method that your instructor is following but the method here doesn't require that you have any drawing skills. It is also true that drawing is not painting and painting is not drawing. Those things being said, continuing with your drawings will help you because drawing regularly will hone your ability to render what you see accurately, appreciate differences in value and proportion, and sketch loosely. As far as painting loosely, I think that Mark would recommend not blending and others would recommend painting with larger brushes. But truth be told, I think that developing a loose painting style, if that's what you want, comes with the confidence and technical ability that you acquire by doing lots and lots of paintings. Same with drawing loosely.