Painting using overexposed photos

I am a student, I have been painting for a little bit more than 2 years, I have been improving but off course I have a very long path ahead to become the painter I want to be.

I like to paint portraits, and I have study many techniques from many painters, when I paint from dramatic paints (light and shadows) they are fine I guess

There is one painter I am studying now called Scott Waddell, he is awesome, and he achieves some results painting very closed value skin tones, no dramatic changes and somehow they work great, I have seen many of his videos and I am not able to achieve that smooth transitions between very little value shifts.

So, the question is, how do I get those results? I tried to paint like that but my results are flat unless I push the values wich will make it work but wont have that realistic result

Thanks in advance for the answers and sirry for my english, it is not my natal tongue

Comments

• To be able to answer your questions with any accuracy, I would need to see Scott Waddell's work and your efforts also.  I will look for his paintings on line, but we will need to see yours also.
  • dencaldencal -
    edited April 8
    Alexev

There are two ways to achieve fine value transitions.

1. Premix say, nine skin tones grading from dark to light and a greying complement colour. Place the values as tiles with slight overlap. If there is too much difference, use a dry brush to blend the transition.

2. Paint as normal using the blended stroke if needed. Allow to dry. Mix transparent glazes and apply to dry areas. This method will give a smooth luminosity to skin tones. Artists sometimes use a dozen glazed layers. This method takes time and patience. Use Liquin as a glazing medium to speed the process.

Have a look at the paintings of William-Adolphe Bouguereau.

Denis
  • I love Scott, he is so funny as well as a great painter!
    Abstraction