Market for Realistic Art

Dear Artists

I have observed artworks of premium galleries and art collectors in India & Middle East. I have noticed mostly they collect and promote abstract / conceptual art. I am not yet evolved to interpret abstract art, hence I am not any authority to comment on it. But it's a trend here , I am not aware about other geographies . 

While people like realistic still life/ landscapes but they are not okay with the price points. Now I wonder whether Realism (especially landscape/still life) has any market elsewhere? If yes, then how should one reach out to. I am an emerging artist , I am struggling to understand market for my art. 

Comments

• Hi, @vartikasinha.

Abstract art is the mainstay in most big commercial galleries all over the world now. But there is still a market for realist work. I have some ideas for you to consider but can't write now as I'm covered in paint. Will respond further in an hour or so.  :)
  • @tassieguy That's very sweet of you . Thank you
  • edited March 29
    Hi, again, @vartikasinha. Sorry it took a while to get back to you. I'm still covered in paint and still have to go clean my brushes and palette but I'm taking the weight of my feet for 10 minutes (I stand whilst painting)  so it's a good time to respond.

There is a market for realism. The trick is to get your work in front of buyers who like realism.  Once you've sold a few, people get used to your name and recognize your work and selling gets easier. So, how do you get your work out there so potential buyers will see it?