Would like some constructive advice please

I'll give some background about myself. My name is Jess. I work in bereavement support. I don't have any regrets about how I do art and about not taking it further at university. I enjoy my job. I work with lovely people and to support bereft people during a stressful time can be gratifying in a way that I don't think art will ever be. My wage gives me just enough to go to exhibitions and to go to galleries and buy art supplies. I make no money from my art but It doesn't bother me. I often go to the galleries to study the artworks there. I immensely admire the romantic period in art with the likes of Rembrandt , Goya , delacroix etc. I think you might see some influence of this in my work.  What I am looking for is ways that I can improve my skills and ways that I can develop the direction of my art ? Some people I've spoken to have told me why should I bother but Just because I am not a professional doesn't mean that I can't allow myself to progress any further and strive to do better with what I like to do. I love to do sculpture , painting , drawing. I've tried my hand at some digital. I may try printmaking in the future. My cousin is a printmaker artist and I would love to have a go myself.