My first still life. Started in August 2021 but didn’t touch again until I finished on Dec 24

Comments

• edited December 2021
    So I ended up not happy with a couple things, first was the background cloth, for may reasons. The value isn’t super bad, but with most of the painting edging on realism and detail, the cloth doesn’t match that, I’m very tempted to go back and fix it, but I’m also eager to move on to my next project and call this done. Like Mark told me, I need to get about 20 paintings in before I’ll be more comfortable with a lot of things like developing color from steps, maintaining value and properly using my proportional divider. I am just a beginner and I owe a lot to having some success with this first still life painting to Mark’s amazing instruction and education to me about the processes in draw mix paint and fix. 

But my question is, Do others agree it’s time to just move on to my next project? 
  • You've done a fine job with this, @pcstaples. The objects are very well painted. I love the cherries.

As you said, the background could be refined. But I recommend moving on so that you can apply what you learned in this one to the next. I agree with Mark that one needs to do a good number of paintings before mastery comes into view. So, yeah, I think you can be happy with this one and that you should move onto the the next. And you can always come back to this one later.  :)
    pcstaples
  • My favorite part is your fruit & books … I love your colors and values on them, your doing great!
    I’m just new to working on Mark’s methods too and I am finding it quite an adventure and I am enjoying & learning from  each project. Enjoy 😊 
    pcstaples
  • Excellent work. Can you please share a good photo of the work along with the source?
    pcstaples
  • edited December 2021