A Suggestion on How to Get DMP's Mojo Back

I've been browsing through several past discussions in the Off-Topic and General discussion categories and I got the feeling that this website use to buzz with an energetic vibe once. Reading some of the discussions from long term members suggests to me they feel that this forum is starting to fade away slightly.

I'm a total newbie here (about a week ago I joined) and I'm a complete beginner to painting.

But I thought I'd lay out a suggestion that may help to refresh things

One discussion I came across (I can't remember who?) mentioned that there are people that come here just to show their paintings but they rarely offer anything back to the other forum members. And I can understand why other members may feel a little miffed at that.

I'll be honest... when I joined up I was quite eager to show one of my paintings... as a beginner you can't help but feel a little excited about someone (especially an accomplished artist) commenting on your painting (good or bad)

I also came here with the purpose that I could ask for advice from professional/seasoned artists as well, and take a look at their work.

Maybe if the site was to create a few new categories, possibly two or maybe three

Example:

Beginners Corner

Accomplished

Professional/Seasoned

That way people like myself would more than likely head for the Beginners Corner because we'd all basically be on the same level and probably relate to each other better. Same would go for the other artists on similar levels

And it wouldn't stop anyone visiting whichever category and interacting.

Anyway just my thoughts.
MichaelDjean_kahlerkaustavM

Comments

• edited December 2021
    Hi @Nate, and welcome.

I am one of those who posted about others not contributing. I have realised that some, even though they are accomplished enough to do so, will not contribute. Though they appear to enjoy posting their work and lapping up the praise.