How do you paint white objects?

I painted this little jug today, just for practice. I'm really not loving it. Honestly, I think that is ok as I know I can learn from it once I take a step back. That being said. The jug is supposed to be white! Lol! And, I don't think that a viewer would be able to tell that this is a white jug from my painting. The truth is, I find white objects VERY intimidating to paint. How do you guys go about doing it? Hope everyone is having a nice weekend so far!
CabralGTOMarinos_88Gary_Heath

Comments

• Maybe I need to change the background to a completely different colour? Blue and grey perhaps? That might help, I think 
  • Clearly you were intimidating by the white of the jug and then probably more white is needed in the shadows, obviously the white shouln't just white but some various high value greys. I am not an expert, so this is just my opinion to be contrasted with other ones. I like the painting.
  • I think you have purple and yellow colours in the jug which is what makes it look a bit off. Have you got a photo of the original still life so we can give more C&C? :)
    Allie
  • @Richard_P
    thanks! Yes. I'll see if I can upload it!
  • @Richard_P fyi - i wasn't focused on trying to represent the cloth in the back...I'm sure you can see that! Also, looking at it now, I can also see that I have it completely tilted in my painting. Ugh. I think I"m just having a really off day

• Paint what you see. I see mostly warm neutrals. 
    Allie
  • edited August 23