What am I doing wrong on varnish?

I’m a complete newbie, and obviously I’m doing something wrong on varnish or initial canvas preparation. i’m using Geneva primer, Geneva paints and gamvar gloss. I’m putting the varnish on thin, with short vigorous strokes like they show in the video. Am I doing something wrong? My varnished paintings look way too sparkly. I really want the deep colors from the gloss, and yes they are hard to photograph and on some angles they do look a bit better but there’s still a lot of sparkle. Am I doing something wrong? Cheap canvas? Do I have to gesso? 

Comments

• emaz

The varnish is doing its job perfectly. Creating a smooth glossy and protective surface.
    The canvas texture is killing you. Providing specular highlights in every stitch of the weave.
    Revarnish with a mat product.

In future I suggest using an aluminium composite panel or some ply / hardboard panels that can be gesso coated and sanded smooth as a baby’s proverbial.

Denis

emazPaulB
  • I’ve had it with these canvas frames I thought were good. The texture is hard to paint on and yeah gloss varnish looks awful on them. Does nobody use canvas then? It’s kind of ruining the experience for me. I’m confused though, doesn’t Mark use canvas? And many other talented painters?

Also, I have some large canvas frames already. Is there any way to still use them? Gesso maybe? But then I’ll need sanding. Can I hand sand? How much sanding are we talking about?
  • edited August 4
    Mark uses canvas/linen. I'm guessing he applies several coats of gesso and sands between coats to get the smoothness he wants. If you want  a smooth surface without having to go to the trouble of making a canvas smooth then, as @Dencal said, you would probably be better off with aluminium or wood. I'd say it's definitely the weave of the canvas that is causing your varnish problems.