Cobalt Drier

I normally want my oils to dry slowly so I love the Geneva paints, and also Mark's recipe for slow dry medium.  However, I'm now venturing into plein air painting and want my plein air paintings to dry faster.  So have been looking into different fast dry mediums for use with regular oil paints.

I would NOT try to use a fast dry additive with Geneva!

Has anyone Used Cobalt Drier?  I have a bottle of the Grumbacher Cobalt Drier, and the only information I can find on how to use says to add is "sparingly by drops" to the medium, and not to the paint.  I can find nothing on how much medium per drop.   It seems that there would be a recommendation as well as a warning on how much is too much.

Is anyone aware of any recommendations on using cobalt drier other than "sparingly"?

Comments

• edited July 26
    I use cobalt in my medium which is made from one ounce of linseed oil and one ounce of OMS.  To this, I add about 5 drops, more or less, of Grumbacher cobalt.  I say more or less because I don't have a dropper.  I use a palette knife dipped into the cobalt, and then let drops slide off the knife into my medium.  Sometime I get more, sometimes, less,  but it works like a charm.  Paint is mostly touch dry by the next day.   You will have to play with it for awhile to find the amount that works for you.  Just don't use too much.  Count it out by drops, and in your medium, not your paint nuts.
  • Thanks @broker12 !  Exactly what I was looking for.  

Even Ralph Meyers is rather vague in "The Artist's Handbook"!  

If I make any changes, it will probably be to use less cobalt.