Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

I am struggling and a little worried

Hello everyone, 
I started doing art when I was very young and then gave it. About a year ago I picked it back up because my life was going down hill and I needed something to keep me in check. So I started painting again. I am also a professional magician so this keeps my mind in 2 places instead of one. But I started with watercolor and had a cheap set and did very well. Then I wanted some help improving so I called a painter on YouTube I won’t say his name and he said he would help me by giving me lessons since I’m young and broke. But I would have to switch to oil painting. I got all of my paints and easel. Spending lots of money then he ghosted me. So I started trying the draw mix paint method and something is not clicking. So I have been getting slightly frustrated and losing motivation to paint. If anyone has been through a similar situation it would be nice to hear some advice. 

Comments

• edited May 12
    Hello @parkerwilliammagic and welcome.
    I have not been through a similar situation, but I want to remind you that if you did well with the water colour then that is a real positive, they are certainly not easy.
    Marks methods I would say are very beginner friendly and, as I am sure many will agree here on the forum, that if you follow his instructions to the letter you will achieve good results.

When you say you have tried this method but something is not clicking, what exactly do you mean ? What have you tried in this method that you feel you are failing at, and where is it that you have become stuck ?

Like most things, becoming good at them requires application and repeated practice. Mistakes are something to embrace because we learn from them.