Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Finding a portrait style - hi from England

So, at 75. I've been painting for about 5 years or so after watching Mark's videos. I've finished six portraits including this first image, however, the others I guess were 'tight' (see example below of my younger brother wearing the baseball hat) and, like so many folk I read about, I've wanted to develop a more expressive, looser style. I tried this with the burnt umber/burnt sienna 'sketch' below of my son which was done quickly and which I enjoyed. I love portraiture more than the other classic subjects so want to focus on them and I have some - very personal - 'projects' in mind. I've found that it's so tempting to tighten/blend when you are inexperienced but I just feel it would be a progressive step if I could move towards a looser style that involved making 'correct' marks and leaving them alone! The 'sketch' of my son was actually done as preparation for a larger painting that I've previously posted. Does anyone have any thoughts on this (I know it's a big subject!)? 

Comments

• @Coach_T01
    Here is what I suggest:  
    if you focus on laying in your values,
    paint what you see (not what you “think” you see),
    don’t blend a stroke,
    and step back from the canvas often then you will see realism develop and the lose brush work will be present.
    Maybe give that a go and see if it improves your paintings. I hope that makes sense and helps. 😎
  • I like the monochrome study of your son and the portrait of the chap in the baseball cap. They both have soul.