Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

How often do give yourself a raise?

Hello friends,

Just a general question and wanted to get some opinions from fellow artists. How often do you give yourself a raise? I am aware that different people have different ways of pricing their work but I’m specifically asking about people who charge per sq inch. Say as an artist I start out at 2.00/sq inch, I feel like I’m progressing as a painter at an exponential rate, so what is a general rule of thumb for increasing the price of my work without letting my ego get in the way? 
Also I have a couple older works hanging around that I feel may sell as soon as I start putting my work out on the market (I haven’t really sold anything yet) but say they do sell... should I price them at my current rate or as a beginner artist at 2.00/ sq inch

Comments

• For instance, this is one of the older paintings from 2017 I have hanging around that I feel people may be interested in...

and this is something I just finished yesterday (still deciding if it’s finished) and obviously there’s a different level of workmanship at play so the pricing should reflect that too, or no?
  • @LogosChroma

If your work is original yes. These are derivative works. That's obvious. The football painting would require attribution at least and possibly written permission. The acceptable Vermeer copy has to have the painted after attribution on the front. Placing a square inch value would be hard to justify. 

You really can't be worrying about price your work until you begin to show original work. I encourage you to start doing original work from your own sketches, photos and life. You have some skills.