Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

My dog in the grass - WIP

emazemaz -
edited April 11 in Post Your Paintings
So as you can see the grass color is a little bit off. I’m OK with that. But I don’t think I like the abstractness of the grass. I’m not very good at wet on wet, this is my second painting, and the paint for the grass is very thick and wet. It’s straight Geneva paint, perhaps I should’ve thinned it out? 

Anyhow, it would be difficult for me to add more detail. So I’m considering wiping off all the grass and starting over and going for longer, thinner and individual blades of grass. As tedious as that would be I think that would really add to the realism. How would you guys paint the grass? What do you see that would help me? I see patches grouped together that vary in color. I see that even the shadow grass has light tones but less saturated. I see that the sunlight grass has more yellows. I see small but entire black and brown shapes within all the grass that need to be there. I see quite a challenge. 🤣

Or… Does the grass work as it is if you haven’t seen the reference photo? I’m uncertain.

I also need to do something with her white chest fur which is overblown in the photo. Since I removed the leash, I’m not sure what to do. Maybe I’ll just paint in the tags.

Thoughts?

tassieguyArtGalanweshaHondoRWA_Time_To_PaintdencalForgivenessLeafgazer_Dirtfoot

Comments

• the painting looks better than the photo! i like your version of the grass too!
    May be the shadows where the paws of the dog are sinking into the grass can be adjusted to make things easy to understand. For example when i saw the painting at first i was confused  why there are shadows on either side of the paw when there's sunlight from one direction.
    emaz