Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Need skin texture advice

Sorry for the repost but I wanted to explicitly ask a question. So my reference photo has what I might call halftones on the skin. I don’t believe those are pores, I think it’s just insufficient resolution on the photo. She has perfect skin, and I don’t really see any cool colors. Or am I missing them?

Plus I’m a beginner and I over blended, and so it’s not a bad first attempt but she does come off as a little bit too plastic. How can I make it look more realistic, more natural? Where do the cool tones usually fall on the skin? How can I get a little texture when I don’t really have it on the reference photo?

So I’m not sure what to do next. I like where it’s at but I think I can do better and I think I need some texture and detail but not sure where to go.

Comments

• It looks very good, you've captured the likeness well. one thing i can see may be soften the hairline a bit? love the necklace :)
    emazcritterisfun
  • CBGCBG -
    edited March 9
    @emaz

You are on the right track when you talk of overblending... it's the thing that kills texture and interest created from abstraction.

I note that you are dealing with a not so great reference.  The colors are very monotone and she already looks more plastic than organic... possibly because she has a ton of makeup on which masks the natural variations of reds and peach in natural flesh, and that copper yellow lighting is horrible.

Looks like,  other than your overblending, the plastic appearance of the result is primarily the fault of the reference you started with.  I think if you start with a good reference, and use only a slightly more abstract brushstroke, blending a wee bit less, you'd get really good results!