Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

My first painting using DMP 8"x8" on panel

Hi! My name is Vinnie, and I've been enjoying reading all of your posts and seeing your paintings. I'm feeling ready to post my first oil painting, and my first using DMP. I have done some acrylic painting for a while, and I'm self taught using youtube, so if you have any critique for me I'd be happy to hear it.

Thanks so much!
BBBGTODustin_CropsboyKingstonFineArtBuckyIntothevoiddencalkaustavMgeoffrey_38BKWtjalferes

Comments

• Looks like a great DMP painting.  Did you paint this from life or from the photo?
  • I love this @fv_analog. You captured the metallic sheen beautifully. 
    If you really are looking for a critique.. I respectfully submit that you might want to re-check your values especially in the plunger and in the lower front of the container body. Both areas read lighter than your source... I think as is it is a wonderful painting. I’m just making this comment because you are beginning with the DMP method and Mark teaches “values , values , values...” Great work! I’m looking forward to seeing more!
  • @GTO Thank you! I painted this from a printout of this image, which I think did have different values to the digital image. @SecondSarah thank you! I agree but it can be hard to tell when I'm just being hard on myself. I'm working on a larger piece soon that I look forward to posting too!
  • I understand the print out thing. Nice display of metal object.  Maybe it needs some darkening in some areas. 
  • It may need a little darkening in some areas, but I like your painting better than the photo.
  • The painting looks good but the photo of the painting leaves a lot to be desired.