Greetings from Santa Rosa, California

I tried painting with water colors years ago and now at the age of 72, I'm trying oil. I watched many of Mark's videos, set up the studio, made a shadow box and bought Windsor Newton paint and the ingredients to mix Mark's recipes.

My first painting attempt didn't go well. The paint seemed thick and sticky. So I think I need to thin it with some mineral spirits? I ordered glasses and just got them because I found matching value so difficult. I'm trying not to be discouraged, but can't help but think I've taken on too much. 

I'm going to tint another canvas soon and attempt to paint a pear or two. 

Any advice or suggestions will be most welcome. Mark is a great teacher and explains things well. The problem is that he makes it look so easy.

Thanks in advance,
Christine
KingstonFineArtHunter1

Comments

• Welcome!  I am new to oils, too.  I am sure others will chime in with better mixing advice than I am able to offer, but it is fantastic you are not giving up.  Hang in there.  (And many of us here use magnifying eyewear and it makes a big difference.)
  • edited February 14
    Hi, @christinez. Welcome to the forum. Don't get discouraged. You're not going to paint a masterpiece in your first week of painting. It takes time and plenty of disasters for the trash. But that's how the learning happens There are quite a few of us here who started late and have gained so much from DMP. You're in good company. 

Don't thin your paint with mineral spirit. Use a medium.

Enjoy your painting.  :)
  • @christinez
    Baby steps.