Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Recent 9x11 oil painting on gesso covered paper

edited February 7 in Post Your Paintings
I’m a beginner. I painted this from a selfie photo that a friend had taken of herself. It is a surprise and will be going out this Monday! It had big challenges as the photo was overexposed, and there was some distortion which happens when taking a selfie. I did it on paper for easier mailing. She lives across the country and given Covid, it’s been a challenge to ship anything, so chose paper. It is watercolour paper covered in layers of gesso, sanded between coats. I did an acrylic underpainting. I tried to go beyond the burnt umber painting using an acrylic base to see how it would work, Compared to using oils, acrylic is not forgiving, I got frustrated and started again by painting over in oil. 

In the end, I added flecks of gold leaf in the abstract background. It’s too blended. The shirt is too uniform. I struggled with the values because i had to create them given the photo was washed out and there was distortion of the nose. 

I left her overalls and didn't want to overwork them- kind of like an unpainted comic book ink drawing symbolizing humour.   I liked the contrast of the overalls to the rest of the more developed, blended and saturated colours in the rest of the painting.  In the end, I was pleased to have captured her spirit and humour.  She always has a smirk that is about to burst into laughter, then comes some dry, one- liner that cracks me up.

I hope as I progress, to become looser and more abstract. I’d like to try dull colours with a few rich colours. I’m in the process of trying to  copy a master painting of a portion of The Lady of Shalott  and another of an old vintage camping poster on wood for a minifridge door in our new van.