Help! What happened? Weird effect on Oil primed hardboard

FudgeFudge -
edited January 29 in Painting
Hello, first time posting, I made an account just for this problem. I painted two lemons the other day on some hardboard I Oil primed. I let the oil prime dry for the recommended 7 days before painting. Now a few days have passed since i finished the painting, and I have this weird separation and lines going everywhere. It looks kind of cool but also completely ruined the painting. What caused this? I dont want this to happen again. I have a lot of oil primed boards ready to paint on and do not want this happening on the paintings to come. This is my first time painting on oil primed hardboard. Any help is much appreciated!

First photo was when I just finished it, still wet.

Comments

• Hello and welcome

:) 
    Fudge
  • dencaldencal -
    edited January 29
    Fudge

Welcome to the Forum.

The uniformity and brush stroke shape hugging of the lines suggest that this is a paint consistency problem.

Oil paint shrinks as it dries and it looks like craquelure.

Perhaps an excess of solvent in the top coat and an excess of oil in the primer has breached the fat over lean rule.

I notice an absence of cracks where you have used thicker paint.

Denis

Fudge
  • FudgeFudge -
    edited January 29
    Thanks for the reply Denis, I really appreciate it! 

I think you are right. I had no idea the fat over lean rule was so important! It is a traditional Oil prime.
    I did dilute some layers of the painting with Gum Turps at the beginning and went over it later, and other layers like the shadowed parts i just laid reasonably thin by habit of not mixing enough paint.
    I use paint straight out of the tube.

So, the Oil prime is really thought of as a regular layer of oil paint, and everything on top should be a good thick consistancy or have Linseed oil added?

I guess this means to not use any solvent at all, and to really paint quite thick everywhere?