Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

What Would You Share With a Complete Beginner That Would Help Them the Most?

As I await the delivery of some key supplies, I stand on the precipice of this vast undertaking.  I have now watched every free video on the DMP site.  I have ordered and received my Geneva paints, and I am preparing to lay out the cash for the first $100 DMP video download.  I have enjoyed reading through this forum, and learning from everyone here.  You produce such great work, I feel like I have so much to learn.

May I pick your brain?

What do you know now, that you wish you'd known before you began painting?

What mistakes have you made, and what did you learn from them that has changed something significant about your drawing, mixing, and/or oil painting ever since?

What book, tutorial, teaching, or technique has made the most dramatic improvement in your work?

What are common beginner mistakes, and how do you avoid them?

If you had to give a beginner advice, what wisdom would you share that you think would make the largest difference to an oil painter who was totally new to painting in general?

Comments

• edited December 2020
    Here's what I would tell a beginner who is serious about painting.

Painting cannot be learned from a book or video. You can get valuable information from these but painting itself is learned by doing. No amount of abstract knowledge alone will make one a good painter. Drawing skills, brush control, colour mixing and much else have to be physically practiced to be mastered.  Mistakes and failures are inevitable. It is from our disasters that we learn most.