Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Carder method WITH ACRYLIC

Hello, I am an acrylic artist and am saving up the money for Geneva paint and my other oil supplies, while also planning a way to let my paintings dry without my 2 year old “reworking” them for me (ironically the fast drying time is the thing I find most difficult about psi ting acrylics, but also one of the reasons I use them) I’m wondering if anyone here uses acrylics for marks method?i use golden heavy body, and use both golden retarder, and golden gloss glazing liquid to control the drying time. I did my first still life the other day using a limited pallet of quinacridone crimson, cadmium yellow medium, ultramarine blue, burnt umber, and titanium white, and was happily surprised with my result, but know that I have a very long way to go in order to reach my goal. I had to mix my colors on the fly and couldn’t truly follow his technique, but was greatly informed by his wisdom and method and would welcome anyone’s ideas on how to premix all colors and have a set of value piles without them all drying up, but am mainly hoping someone can share their own experience painting in the carder method using acrylics. Also I color my gesso the same tint of burnt umber, and pencil in with yellow using a proportional divider. I think it would be cool to continue working in acrylics as I move I to oils and eventually work in both mediums, I welcome all thoughts and especially any personal experience. Thank you all!

Comments

• dencaldencal -
    edited November 14
    ConnorDios

Storage: Stock color (bu,um,cy,pac,tw, black) mixed directly into 75 ml snap caps with SDM. Lasts two years.