Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Golden Acrylic gesso

hello, i am an acrylic painter aiming to paint both in acrylic and oils now. I have read a seemingly endless amount of threads on canvas primed with acrylic medium, and acrylic gesso. I have a large amount of Golden Acrylic Gesso as well as medium, and was wondering if anyone else has experience painting oils onto an acrylic primed canvas. I know that some say it’s fine, and others say that the color sinks in. I find that if the color sinks in (this can happen with acrylics as well) it always has meant that the gesso was too thin, or not enough coats applied but am not sure if that is true for oils. It would be really cool if I can use the same gesso/primer for both my acrylic and oils, which is why I made this thread as a sort of hub for anyone who used acrylic canvas to post their experiences. Thank you everyone!

Comments

• Acrylic gesso as ground for oil painting. Some brands of gesso are absorbent, some are not so. My experiences with Golden brand is; hard sandable gesso for rigid surfaces such as panels, and their regular gesso for canvas. The hard sandable gesso is basically non-absorbent. To prevent absorption or sinking in of oil paints, I found that applying an additional "oil lead ground" over the acrylic gesso will eliminate sinking in and dulling of colors, and provide much greater adhesion of my work on my painting surface over the years.