Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

What do artists do with self portraits?

I just want to get some other people's opinions on this. If you are a painter, I don't think you have much choice, sooner or later you have to do a self portrait. At least this is how it seems to me personally.

However, my question is, when you paint a self portrait, what do you do with it when you are done? Do you put it up for sale? The problem here is that even though there are a lot of people who know I am an artist, I haven't been able to think of a good reason why they would want to have or house a painting of me. Even I don't want to have a picture of me.

It seems to me that with a self portrait all I can do is keep it in my house in a box somewhere, or on the wall to just sit there where very few people will ever see it. I know one of the prime values of a self portrait is just that it gives you very good practice as an artist, but please let me know what your opinion is on what to do with self portraits once they are completed.

-John

Comments

• If you have children, give it to them.  Hehehe.
    kaustavM
  • If painted in their youth they put it in the attic and pledge their soul in order to remain as ever youthful as the portrait.

:) 
  • I hang them in my studio. 
  • I have done five so far.  Four are in my closet.  The fifth is on a large, lovely piece of linen so I am thinking of destroying it so I can paint something else.  They are fantastic practice!!!  "Paint to learn" is David Leffel's motto and he is the Master of self portraits so I say, go for it.  When you become famous, you'll have people llined up to buy one.