Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

recent Corona time still-life

Comments

• @shahin what set of brushes do you use for this?  Types and sizes?
  • @GTO, funny you ask. up til these few paintings which I did, and by the way I'm going to post a few more for you, I was using a soft brush actually yet trying to show a harsher look which was strange! the brush is a rosemary evergreen which is a synthetic softer brush. since my devilish face and the guy holding a cup and the one I'm working on now, I have changed to a rougher bristle brush. it also happens to be Rosemarie called ultimate bristle. I think I'm staying with that one since while working on wood it gives me the exact feel I have always longed for.
  • @shahin, I'm a complete novice... trying to learn. Your work is breathtaking.

I am fascinated with this and other of your recent works posted on the forum in which you seem to have deconstructed or broken particular edges, usually ones which are less focal. These often involve strokes which cross out or interrupt the edge but retain contrast, sometimes pulling in the adjacent area and sometimes pulling in remote colors from less adjacent areas or objects.  Interestingly, these features retain enough immediacy and hence contribute a certain amount of interest in the work, which edge control through blending would not have achieved (such blending can render those areas into complete obscurity).  Your technique successfully attenuates one kind of focus (at least one kind of my mind), one of form and object, while heightening another, namely my more abstract sense of color, texture, and contrast.   And sometimes the colors tie the work together as well when they speak of areas farther away or reference the color of the forms or objects of focus.