Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Varnishing

Hello.
I am new to painting with oil paint. And before i knew everything i made a mistake varnishing my painting only a couple weeks after i painted it... is there any way of fixing it? What can happen? 
I really need your help.

Comments

• dencaldencal -
    edited August 24
    Gerda

Welcome to the Forum.

The varnish has a solvent that would have softened the semi-dry paint and allowed the resin in the varnish to bond with the paint pigment. I do not know of any undo technique.

Suggest you love it as it is. Title your painting “ Six Months Too Soon”.

Denis

• edited August 24
    If the painting was not completely dry when you varnished it (unlikely after just a couple of weeks) the varnish may bond with the paint layer and make it impossible to remove the varnish (if that ever becomes necessary) without damaging the painting. 

Also, varnishing a painting that is not completely dry will hinder further drying and will likely lead to bubbling and cracking. 

I don't know how you would remedy this. @Dencal will probably have some insights.
  • edited August 24
    What type of varnish did you use? Was the paint dry to the touch and firm under pressure from a thumbnail?