Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Color mix from blue sky to orange sunset horizon

I'm new to oil painting with four paintings under my belt.  Trying to paint one of my photo of sunset over the ocean.  I want to paint a realistic sky that has a blue sky blend into the deep orange sunset over the horizon.  My problem is that when the blue color blend with yellow it creates a "greenish" color, which is not the color of the sunset.  The photo shows the sunset is a deep orange to light yellow blend to light blue and then to dark blue. No problem with mixing orange to yellow and light blue to dark blue.  Base on the color wheel blue mix yellow is green but that is not what I see in nature.  Any suggestions how to mix the yellow to blue transition and remain without a greenish color.

Comments

• DLau

Welcome.

I think you will just have to mix the transition value/s to place between the dry blue and yellow.

Denis
    DLau
  • Don't blend and the problem will disappear. Just mix the values/colours you see and lay them in where they are meant to go and then leave them alone.  :)
    BOB73DLau
  • Several of the Earth pigments dont mix-green in contact with blue pigments, they desaturate instead.  Good for warm and cool cloud-forms.
  • Wait for it to be touch dry then bring on the blue like @dencal says or don't blend like @tassiegut says. They are both right. The first requires patience the second requires skill. Which do have more of?
    DLau