Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Mark Carder landscape tutorial painting

I decided to buy the Mark Carder landscape tutorial video... it was super helpful! I've only done maybe 4 oil paintings in my life so I'm still learning lots. I didnt realize how important tones are. I painted this from a photo I took up the road. Any constructive criticism is welcome! Thanks.

BOB73A_Time_To_PainttassieguyArtGalSandromichal3michalmarieb

Comments

• Good work.  Simple but charming. Do more and you'll be getting real good.
    Clouds overhead cannot be of uniform size.  They also need softening.  A bit more foreground variation needed because there's a lot of it.
    dencalsomeone_elseBOB73
  • Thank you for the feedback. Yeah I tried to copy the photo too much. Yes I need to just keep practicing to get better. Have to make it my own. Thanks.
  • edited July 19
     I think this is very good - especially considering it's only your fourth painting. It  has a crisp, vibrant feel. The distant blue hills are beautiful.  I would lower the intensity of the blue sky and soften the clouds a wee bit. Best not to use pure white - there's always some colour even in brightly lit clouds and snow. And maybe have another look at your reference and try to capture a little foreground detail.

You have an eye for landscape and on the whole you've done a fine job here.  :)
    someone_else
  • Very nice composition. I’m a little confused by the bright green patch on the upper left.  Not sure what it is. 
    I also find the blue in the sky to be slightly harsh. Maybe it needs to be toned down with a little red. 

someone_else