Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

My very first oil painting

HadeelHadeel -
edited June 18 in Post Your Paintings
Still a work in progress, but basically I have no idea what I'm doing 😅 I am not an art student and have never painted in any medium before. Decided to try my hand at a portrait even though I am aware that it's not the best choice for complete novices. Any comments, tips, criticism would be highly appreciated ❤️ 
PS I'm painting at home so not using turps, my only medium is pure poppyseed oil. 
PPS I know my choice of a reference picture is far from ideal, but this is a photo of my mom that has always captivated me. Can't seem to bring new life into it though, especially given the age and quality of the photo. 

MichaelDhasan_batGTOSandro

Comments

• Hi @Hadeel,

and welcome to the forum,

Its very good for your first and I would not have been so brave as to do a portrait for my first so well done.

Starting something like a piece of fruit is advisable before moving onto the complexities of portraiture.

:) 

• Hadeel

Excellent result for the very first.

Choice of source being limited to a very soft focus mid range image has influenced your work, pushing your brush to show more edge and definition than really exists. No problem with that it’s done often, however,  your task was made more difficult as a result. Was the intent to reproduce the image in paint or to improve the image with more definition? Compare the neck edge join with the hair. Compare the ear lobe. The soft fold b/w the cheek and top lip and the shadow around the eyes are important visual depth cues in faces, darker looks deeper. Still in progress, so probably changed already.

Denis

• edited June 18
    Welcome, @Hadeel. :)