Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Paintings "before Mark"

Hi,
As a self taught newbie, about to follow a class with Mark. Here are some of the paintings I made before, just to record the starting level. Working now on some lilies to show Mark on our first session. Have so high hopes!
Don't hesitate to let me know what you think, I can take it :-)
Raffi
MichaelDRichard_PdencalArtGalhasan_batA_Time_To_Paint

Comments

• edited June 18
    Well, you can obviously draw. And you know a thing or three about colour, too. You've done a wonderful job with that rose. The chiles look great, too.

With Mark you'll get a better feel for painting as a process of seeing areas of colour and laying in brushstrokes of the corect shape/ value/colour and leaving them alone rather than filling in an outline drawing. I'm sure you'll shine. You have good skills already.  :)
    Richard_P
  • Raffi

Beautiful work. Colour intensity amped up a tad too high. Edges too sharp particularly on rounded forms.

Denis
    BOB73
  • Oh thank you @tassieguy and @dencal , much appreciated! Yeah, a long way to go, but passion is there :-)
  • I've just finished the foreground to this one. tons of mistakes I am afraid here. the subject was too difficult for me. also it's 1meter x 1 meter, for me that is pretty big!

GTO
  • Wow this is the coolest! Your paintings are great. You seem like a cool lady!
  • You're so kind @mhqoil ! thanks, my favourite remains the pink rose, but this I really learnt lots on this one :-)